do and don't

Keep your email alive

Please don’t query from an email address and change addresses before we can reply. Several times, I’ve received “does not exist” messages or requests to re-send to a new address.

I just don’t have time to dig through and re-send a rejection. It is the author’s fault if they don’t receive my email: you gave me an address in your query and I used it. Professionally, this is the extent of my responsibility. Please respect me and my time.

If you want to change your email address, you have several options:

  1. do it before you query
  2. wait until you’ve heard back from everyone or a year has passed since sending
  3. create the new address but leave the old one open; establish forwarding so any emails get send on to your new address (Gmail especially makes this easy)
2 thoughts on “Keep your email alive

  1. To be fair, it is possible for email to fail at times through no fault of either party. I develop websites for a living, and we often provide email to clients; such systemic failures are more common than you might think, especially when you’re setting things up!

    Like

    1. Very true! I get those error messages about once or twice a month and never know what to do except re-send.
      I’ve also gotten a very different courtesy message from the email client itself saying an account does not exist or was shut down by the owner (instead of “we couldn’t reach the recipient”). I find that one frustrating.

      Like

Ask a question or add your thoughts

