do and don't · query problems

I do fact-check authors

If an author claims they received certain awards, hit the top of the Amazon lists, or are a bestseller, I look them up.

Dear authors: do not lie.

Today’s querier claimed they were a USA Today bestseller. It so happens USA Today provides an easy search function of all books to hit the list, including what rank and for how long.

Guess what? Neither the book nor the author ever hit the lists.

I might glance through their pages, but I’m already preparing a rejection in my head. Liars aren’t good business partners.

2 thoughts on “I do fact-check authors

Ask a question or add your thoughts

